My Favorite Beauty Products

I’ve used these stuffed for a while (except for Maybelline which I just received two weeks ago) and I love them so far.

Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation (shade: 52 Vanille). I’ve been having this foundation for about two years now, and at first I don’t really care about it, not because I don’t like it, I mean, it’s Bourjois, my favorite beauty brand. But just this last weeks that I realize how good this foundation is. It’s not the fully-full coverage kind of foundation, but it does the job by hiding my faded marks and brightening my face, make it looks more ‘awake’. And last week I used this for five days in a row without any primers (wonder why? Because I went to business trip and forgot to bring one #sigh) and thankfully I didn’t experience any breakouts.
Maybelline Fit Me Concealer (shade: Medium). I bought this because Marlena the MakeUpGeek guru used this for her under eyes, and I thought if she likes it, then I mostly would like it too.😀 And turns out it’s not disappointing, it’s different from any other concealers I have. It’s in a liquid form so it tends to be sheer, but it’s very smooth and so easy to blend. I also found out that the Medium shade has a slight orange/warm tint to it, so it counteracts my dark circles. So far so good.
Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair serum. This is the most expensive beauty products I have so far, but it’s totally worth it. Because it’s a serum, it’s not oily like moisturizers or night creams I used before. Even some other serums I tried, they don’t compare to this one (hello, BareMinerals active cell renewal night serum!). It leaves a clean healthy feeling on my skin after applied.
MAC Studio Careblend Pressed Powder (shade: Light Plus). At first I thought this powder was too sheer. I vigorously wiped the puff over the powder’s surface but it seemed nothing has been picked up. But now I know that this powder is intended to be setting powder, which means doesn’t matter if it doesn’t show up or isn’t too pigmented, it’s just a setting powder anyway. But the amazing thing is it eliminates the shine instantly, turns my face back into the blotted, fresh (not oily) version.😀
Wardah Acne Perfecting Moisturizer Gel. Yep, it’s mouthful and it’s a local product. Not oily, doesn’t make my face look shiny, and it has SPF 15. One more thing, it’s cheap. :p I bought it at 26,000 IDR so it’s probably 2-3 US dollars. I don’t remember seeing or using other local products which don’t leave oily feeling like this one. It’s amazing knowing that there’s still some people in this country who still think about making a good beauty product, not only throwing oils and ingredients and call it a moisturizer.
NYX Powder Blush (shade: Taupe). I use this everyday for contouring purpose. Before I own NYX Taupe, I used bronzers for contouring, and I didn’t really mind the slight orangy-ness those bronzers gave to my face, but when you found something better, why not switch to it? I’m still searching for others though, this time I want a real contouring powder, and while waiting for my cash to pile up in my Christmas sock under my bed, the NYX one should do it.😀
Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel. I use this on top of Estee Lauder ANR whenever I feel like I still need hydration. I like this because, again, it’s not oily. It’s a gel. Like Wardah, but without SPF. I can see myself wearing this as night cream (or night moisturizer). I already pre-ordered the full-sized version, hooray!🙂
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Shadow Pencil (shade: Juju). Bought this as a set of five tiny crayons, and I’m most comfortable with this color. Just swipe it lightly onto my lids, smudge a bit with my finger and I’m ready to go (additional eyeliners and mascara can be done on the road, or in the office :p). It does fade a bit at the end of the day, probably because I apply it too sheerly, but NEVER creases.
MAC 219 Pencil Brush. People say that more pricey brushes don’t guarantee that they’re good. Good beauty tools don’t have to be expensive. Yes that’s somewhat true, but 219 is another story. I never see other brushes like 219 (from my research over the internet, of course), whether it’s cheaper or kind of high-end ones. Other ‘pencil’ brush just seem too fluff, too rounded, not enough pointed, or too big to be seen like a ‘pencil head’. And I’m sure I don’t regret buying this, because it does its job beautifully. I just put black eyeliner on top of Urban Decay Juju and blend it with 219, the same goes to my under eyes, blend a bit, and there we have an office-appropriate ‘advanced’ natural look!😀

 

That’s all my favorite products for right now. And, oh, just one quick thought. If you want to put a product into your favorite list, it should be the ones that you think you would buy again. After all, you liked it, right? Then, it should be the products that you have been using for some time. I see many people mention their favorite product just because it’s expensive, or they don’t give it more time to see how it works. Or they’re just endorsed by the brand. Argh, a big no for me.

 

Anyway, I think I’m going to continue working for the office stuff. Yes, it’s Sunday. It’s ok though, considering I have nothing else to do other than to schedule my download :p

Good night,

 

TSS.